Setting Goals and (Trying To) Complete Them.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what kind of person and what kind of mother I want to be. I don’t know, maybe it’s because I had a baby recently, or because I’m sitting at home more than I’m comfortable with. It’s so important for people as parents to divide their goals and remember that they are NOT just parents. It’s also important for parents to remember that their goals can include their kids and you can find personal growth with them. All of my aspirations as of late have been so small like showering more than twice a week and remembering to take my contacts out at night. However, I think I am at a point where I’m falling comfortably into the cycle of momming (is that an acceptable verb?) and being, well, me and I’m ready to start feeling accomplished again.

  • Get back into running. There is nothing, absolutely nothing, like getting up in the morning and going on a run. Even if the pace is choppy and you stop maybe one too many times. I used to be able to go and go and go and I miss that. I’m pretty sure the last time I moved my body faster than a quick walk to the kitchen for caffeine was before Evie so this one could take a lot of patience and time.
  • Make it a point to get everyone and the dog outside every day. We have become hermits. The cold had never stopped us before but this year we really did not make it outside as much as I normally like. I’m actually pretty sure last year around this time we were taking day hikes several times a month, and not short ones. Given, now we have one more human and one more dog to get out the door but still! When there’s a will.
  • For goodness sakes, make some mom friends. This is such a hard thing to do and I had no idea until recently. MOM’S CAN BE SUCH SNOTS TOWARDS YOUNGER PARENTS. It’s also made me realize how antisocial and off putting I can be and that has got to change. I, more importantly, want Evelyn to grow up surrounded by friends and that’s something that has to begin while she is still little.
  • Clean space, clean mind. This is something that I’ve known is effective for such a long time but kind of threw it out the window when life got busy. If I don’t come out in the morning to an empty sink, I’ll think about it all day. If I get in the car and there are a ton of coffee cups and mismatched socks on the floor, I’m probably going to feel clouded when I drive. There’s a 100% chance that’s just a weird thing thing that affects my family, but we all seem to function better in a clean space.
  • Buy fewer, buy with purpose. I am a culprit of buying multiple cheap things instead of just a few good quality items. I feel like with kids it can be okay to buy the big pack of cheap leggings because honestly, they will be pooped on and covered in dirt and you may end up throwing them away. We cloth diaper and I just don’t have time to wash her clothes and diapers four times a week to keep her wardrobe small. However for me, something like a capsule wardrobe or just a smaller wardrobe would be very beneficial.

 

So, there ya go. This is more of a note-to-self type of thing because these aren’t time stamped goals. It could take me several months or even a year to feel like I’m ready to move on to new tasks and that’s okay.

Leave a Reply

